Anish Bhanwala wins bronze at Asian Shooting Championships, secures 2024 Olympic quota

Anish Bhanwala has secured a quota place for the Paris 2024 Olympics after winning the bronze medal in the men’s 25m rapid fire pistol event at the ongoing 15th Asian Shooting Championships in Changwon, Korea. This is the 12th quota place for the Indian shooting team.

Anish scored 588 to qualify in third place for the six-man final and then shot 28 but lost in the shoot-off with silver medalist Dai Yoshioka of Japan. Korean Lee Gunhyeok won the gold medal with a score of 34 in the eight-shot rapid-fire series decider.

India has so far won 30 medals, including eight gold, in the continental competition. Anish’s quota was the fifth quota won by India in Changwon.

After scoring 294 in a perfect first round of qualifying on Sunday, which gave him the lead in the 33-strong field, Anish bounced back with a score of 294 in the second rapid-fire round on Monday morning. This gave him a total of 588 points, just one point behind China’s Wang Xinjie, who topped the field.

Three Chinese players made it to the six-man final as Anish finished third qualifying behind world champion Li Yuehong. This was enough to give them one of the two available Paris places, given that China had exhausted its quota and Li and Dai had also secured their quotas at earlier competitions.

Vijayveer Sidhu scored 581 runs and stood 10th overall and 8th among the contenders. Adarsh ​​Singh stood 25th with a score of 570. Olympian Gurpreet Singh, who was playing only for ranking points (RPO), scored 577 and finished 15th overall.

The men’s trap trio also gave India a silver medal in the team event as Zorawar Singh Sandhu, Kenan Chenai (111) and Prithviraj Tondiman (111) scored a total of 341 points, three points behind gold medalists Qatar, while Iran won the bronze medal. Won. Zorawar finished sixth after reaching the individual finals.

The best Indian performers in women’s trap were those who were not in medal contention. Rajeshwari Kumari and Shagun Chaudhary, playing as RPO shooters, stood seventh and eighth by scoring 108 and 107 points respectively. Preeti Rajak finished second with 103 points, placing her 10th overall. Manisha Keer (98) and Sabira Harris (94) were in the lower order.