Australia announces squad for 2023 World Cup

Australia has announced its team for the 2023 World Cup. The team will be led by fast bowler Pat Cummins. Australia had already announced their 18-man squad and have now selected 15 of them. Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardy and Tanveer Sangha have not been included in the team. Fast bowler Sean Abbott has been selected in the World Cup team for the first time.

Sean Abbott made his ODI debut almost 9 years ago in October 2014. Since then, he has played only 11 ODIs for the Kangaroos, but has now been selected for the World Cup. Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood are the other two fast bowlers in the team.

There are many good players in the Australian team. All-rounders like Mitchell Marsh, Cameron Green and Marcus Stoinis have been selected. These players have a lot of experience of playing IPL in India and hence their role can be very important in the upcoming World Cup. Sean Abbott and Pat Cummins are also capable of contributing with the bat.

Glenn Maxwell has also been included in the team. He is currently struggling with an injury but is expected to be fully fit by the World Cup. According to ICC rules, the Australian team can make changes in its team till 28 September.

Australian team for 2023 World Cup: Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.