2023 10image 13 37 295099004ind v eng ll

The 29th match of the ODI World Cup 2023 between India and England is being played at Ekana Stadium in Lucknow. England won the toss and decided to bowl first. India has lost 3 wickets within 40 runs.

India got off to a bad start as opener Shubman Gill (9 off 13 balls) was bowled by Chris Woakes in 3.6 overs. India suffered another major blow as Virat Kohli was caught by Stokes for a poor shot off the bowling of Willey in 6.5 overs. Iyer also failed to live up to the expectations and was caught by Mark Wood on the fifth ball of the 12th over of Woakes.

The Indian team will go for the winning six as they have won 5 consecutive matches and are in the tournament. On the other hand, if England loses this match then it will be out of the race for a place in the semi-finals. In such a situation, the team will come with the intention of registering a win and stopping India’s winning campaign.

Head to Head (in ODI)

Total matches – 106
India – 57 wins
England – 44 wins
Norizalt – 3
Tie – 2

Head to Head (in World Cup)

Total matches – 8
India – 3
England – 4
tie – one

pitch report

The pitch at Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow generally provides ample support to spin bowlers. However, in the three World Cup matches held at this venue so far, spectators have seen a more balanced surface. In the last two ODIs, teams chasing the target have been victorious and the bowlers have made a significant impact on the game.


The weather forecast for Lucknow for the India vs England match suggests that there is no chance of rain. Humidity levels can be around 43%. The wind speed will be around 8 kilometers per hour.

also know this

Australia in 1992 is the only other defending champion to lose four (or more) matches in the same edition of the World Cup.
Root has come to bat in the powerplay four times in this World Cup and has failed to survive at this stage thrice.
India is the team with the fastest score in overs 1-10 (6.52) and only Afghanistan (66.25) averages higher than India’s 65.20 at this stage.

play 11

India: India: Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah.

England: Team: Joe Root (captain), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Liam Dawson, Keaton Jennings, Toby Rowland-Jones, Ben Stokes, Mark Wood.