image 2023 10 28T104241.761

PAK vs SA ODI World Cup 2023: The most exciting match of the ICC World Cup 2023 was played between Pakistan vs South Africa on 27 October. It was a fight for money. In the end Pakistan defeated South Africa by one wicket. In this match, the third umpire’s decision in the 19th over during South Africa’s batting has created controversy. Now ICC has accepted its mistake on this controversy.

The controversy over the tracking of two balls occurred in the 19th over of South Africa’s batting. The African batsman on strike was Rassie van der Dussen. On the fifth ball of this over, umpire Paul Reiffel gave Rassie Van out LBW. Pakistan’s leg spinner Usama Mir was bowling at that time. It looked like the ball had missed the stumps but umpire Reiffel ruled it out. Then Van der Dussen took DRS. Ball tracking then showed that the ball would have missed the leg stump, then that tracking was removed from the air and another tracking was shown a few seconds later. This time the ball was going on the stump.

However, on both occasions tracking showed that the ball was pitching across the line, the ICC said. Rarely have you seen that D.R. S. Two different ball-trackings are shown on the replay. In such a situation, the second tracking was considered final. Since Van der Dussen was given out on the field, he was declared out. Now ICC has issued a clarification on this. The ICC acknowledged the error in incorrect replays shown when Rassie van der Dussen was dismissed after the controversy, but said the decision was correctly made.