Shaheen Afridi becomes fastest bowler to reach 100 ODI wickets

Pakistan’s left-arm fast bowler Shahin Shah Afridi became the fastest bowler to take 100 ODI wickets during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 league match against Bangladesh at the Eden Gardens here. The 23-year-old achieved the feat in 51 matches, surpassing Australia’s Mitchell Starc’s record of 52 ODI matches. He became the fastest Pakistani bowler to reach the milestone of 100 ODI wickets, breaking Saqlain Mushtaq’s record of taking wickets in 53 matches.

Afridi achieved this feat by taking the wicket of Bangladesh’s leading batsman Tanjid Hasan with a beautiful in-swing ball during the match. Afridi did not stop here. After this he got Shanto caught by Usama Mir for 4 runs. Bangladesh might have scored in the middle order thanks to Mahmudullah and captain Shakib, but Afridi came back and broke the partnership. Mahmudullah scored 56 runs and then got out on the ball of Shaheen Afridi.

Pakistan cricket team has reached the semi-finals of the World Cup. Even if they beat Bangladesh at the Eden Gardens, they will have to keep an eye on Australia’s disappointing win. Australia are in a very strong position at the moment and they are trying for the third and fourth positions. After England, they will face Pakistan, New Zealand and Bangladesh. They have to win this match.

Most wickets (average) in the World Cup for Pakistan
55 – Wasim Akram (23.83)
35 – Wahab Riaz (26.45)
34 – Imran Khan (19.26)
32 – Shaheen Afridi (17.28)
30 – Shahid Afridi (27.70)
30 – Shoaib Akhtar (25.50)

Playing 11 teams of both the teams- Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Tamim Iqbal (vice-captain), Imrul Kayes, Maminul Haq, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Saqib Al Hasan, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hussain, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Soumya Sarkar. , Taskin Ahmed, Noorul Hasan and Subhasish Roy. In: Rubel Hossain and Taskin Ahmed Out: Shuvgata Hom and Mosaddek Hossain

Pakistan squad: Saif Hasan (captain), Sajib Hussain, Nazmul Alam, Afif Hussain (vice-captain), Aminul Islam Biplab, Rayan Rafsan Rahman, Habibur Rahman, Mohammad Rakib, Mahidul Islam Bhuiyan Ankan, Nayeem Hasan, Shakhwat Hussain, Qazi Anik Islam, Yasin. Arafat, Makidul Islam Mugadho and Abdul Halim. Standby Hasan Mahmood, Shahadat Hussain Hridoy, Abbas Musa Alvi and Akbar Ali