These 5 records are in the name of IPL-Delhi Capitals

IPL Delhi Capitals, who made it to the playoffs in 2019, would also like to perform well in this year’s IPL. Delhi Capitals are still in search of their first IPL title. Delhi has been a part of IPL since 2008 but they have not reached the final even once. In IPL 2012, Delhi reached the top of the points table but could not win the title that year either.

Last year, under the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer, the team was third in the points table. They defeated Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Eliminator before losing to Chennai Super Kings in Qualifier 2. The team management had bought Shimron Hetmyer, Marcus Stoinis and Jason Roy in the auction to strengthen its team.

Despite not winning a single title, Delhi has some records in its name. Let us take a look at those five records which are in the name of Delhi Capitals –

#5 Record for most successful run chase in a domestic match

During the IPL 2017 match between Gujarat Lions and Delhi Daredevils at the Arun Jaitley Stadium, the home team Delhi created a unique record by chasing a record high score in the second innings. Batting first, Gujarat Lions scored 208 runs in 20 overs with the help of half-centuries from Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik. Chasing the target of 209 runs, Delhi lost Karun Nair early. Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson added 143 runs for the second wicket. Pant scored 97 runs while Samson scored 61 runs in 31 balls. Delhi won this match by 18 runs.

#4 Lowest runs in a match

Delhi captain Zaheer Khan won the toss and decided to field first against Mumbai Indians in the 45th match of IPL 2017. Mumbai Indians scored 212 runs at the loss of three wickets in 20 overs with the help of half-centuries from Kieron Pollard and Lendl Simmons. Delhi lost 5 wickets in the powerplay. In this way India had to face defeat by 146 runs.

#3 Lowest runs in the first innings

In 2017, Delhi faced Kings XI Punjab at the Mohali ground. Punjab won the toss and invited Delhi to bat first. Both openers Samson and Billings along with Shreyas Iyer were dismissed by Sandeep Sharma. After this, Delhi’s batting faltered and the entire team was reduced to just 67 runs. Punjab won this match by 10 wickets.

#2 Highest strike rate in an innings

Chris Morris holds the record for scoring the most runs in IPL history. He achieved this feat against Rising Pune Supergiants in 2017. Morris scored 38 runs in 9 balls at a strike rate of 422.22. He hit 3 fours and 4 sixes in his innings.

#1 Highest individual score by an Indian batsman

Rishabh Pant holds the record for scoring most runs in IPL. He achieved this feat against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018. Pant scored 128 runs on 63 balls. He hit 15 fours and 7 sixes in his innings.