Women’s Australia team announced for India tour

On Tuesday, Australia announced its squad for the India tour (IND-W Vs AUS-W) starting next month. A 16-man squad has been named by the selectors, which also includes the recently injured Alyssa Healy and Darcy Brown. However, the captain of the team has not been decided yet.

Recently, regular captain Meg Lanning announced her retirement and since then there has been a lot of talk about who will be the captain on the India tour. Vice-captain Alyssa Healy is at the helm and had expressed her desire to take over full-time captaincy a few days ago, but the question remains whether she will be able to recover from injury and be fully fit before the start of the tour.

National selector Shawn Flagler gave an update on Alyssa Healy’s injury, saying: Alyssa Healy’s finger is healing, our medical team is closely monitoring her recovery. We are hopeful that she will be available for the Test but there is still some time for those decisions.

D’Arcy Brown was ruled out of the series and the current season of the WBBL after suffering a hamstring injury during the first ODI against the West Indies in Brisbane on 8 October. However, he has now started bowling and is expected to be fit for the first Test.

Lauren Cheatle, who took 19 wickets in 10 matches while playing for Sydney Sixers in the current season of WBBL, has also made a comeback and has got a chance in the Test team. Cheatle last played for Australia in 2019.

Australian team for India tour: D’Arcy Brown, Lauren Cheatle (Test only) Heather Graham, Ashley Gardner, Kim Garth (T20I) Grace Harris (T20I) Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Shutt , Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham.

Get Sports Breaking News First and Latest Updates from India and around the world on asportsn. Follow Asportsn on Facebook, Twitter,