Quinton de Kock equals de Villiers, Sangakkara’s record with fourth century

Quinton de Kock century New Zealand vs South Africa, World cup 2023: The 32nd match of the World Cup 2023 will be played between New Zealand and South Africa. Quinton de Kock playing a shot against South Africa at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune. This is de Kock’s fourth century in this World Cup. With this he has created a new record.

De Kock scored 114 runs in 116 balls with the help of 10 fours and three sixes. He looks to be in his best form this year and is scoring runs with consistency. This is his 21st ODI century. This is his fourth century in this World Cup. De Kock batted slowly at the start of this innings, but once he settled down on the wicket, he played some aggressive shots.

De Kock is the second highest run scorer in a World Cup. Former Sri Lankan wicketkeeper batsman Kumar Sangakkara was also present on this occasion. Sangakkara scored four centuries in the 2015 World Cup. Team India’s vice-captain Rohit Sharma. Sharma had scored 5 centuries in the 2019 World Cup.

De Kock also left behind Australia’s Mark Waugh (1996), India’s Sourav Ganguly (2003), Australia’s Matthew Hayden (2007) and David Warner (2019). All have scored 3-3 centuries in the same World Cup. Quinton de Kock is sixth in the list of players who have scored most centuries in the World Cup.
Rohit Sharma is at number three. He has taken 7 wickets so far. Apart from him, Australia’s David Warner and Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar have scored 6 centuries each, Australia’s great Ricky Ponting and Sangakkara have scored five centuries each in the World Cup.

Batsmen who scored most centuries in the World Cup –
7 – Rohit Sharma
6 – Sachin Tendulkar
6 – David Warner*
5 – Ricky Ponting
5- Kumar Sangakkara
4- Quinton de Kock

De Kock has become the first South African batsman to score more than 500 runs in an ODI World Cup edition. The special thing is that he has achieved this feat in only 7 innings. Second in the list is former all-rounder Jacques Kallis, who scored 485 runs (9 innings) in the 2007 edition. He is followed by AB de Villiers (482,2015), Graeme Smith (443,2007) and Peter Kirsten (410,1992).