Timed Out controversy is not going down, now ICC can take action on Mathews and Mendis

ODI World Cup 2023: The World Cup will see a high-octane clash between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka on 6 October. The biggest controversy of this match has been giving time to Sri Lankan batsman Angelo Mathews. After which the entire Sri Lankan camp along with Angelo Mathews were very angry with the Bangladesh team and the fourth umpire. After which Angelo Mathews and team captain Kusal Mendis have said something about the fourth umpire, regarding which ICC can take action against these two players.

After giving time out to Angelo Mathews during the match, Sri Lankan captain Kusal Mendis and Mathews raised many questions on the umpire. Both the players have termed the umpire’s decision as completely wrong. Mathews said, “The fourth umpire made a big mistake by giving me out here. Even after the video of this entire controversy came out, I still had 5 seconds left. So will the umpire fix it now? Our safety comes first and I could not play without a helmet.

In the press conference after the match, captain Kusal Mendis questioned the wisdom of the umpire. He said, I do not understand the common sense of umpires. I am very happy with his decision. Player safety comes first and what happened to Matthews’ helmet could have happened to any player.

To a large extent, both these players have presented their side in the press conference, but Sri Lankan players who question the umpire’s decision can take action against them.